Victor’s Testimony from Mark Camp

Image

“I’ve grown up in a family of Christians, but I never truly knew Christ as the God of love.  Instead I knew him as the God of judgment that would frown upon my every wrong.  At the same time, I was fighting through a life full of rejection and darkness.  Finally, a few weeks ago, I found myself with a great challenge: I found that I would be graduating a year and a half earlier than I expected.  This would mean going back to my home which brought me memories of pain and hurt, but God used this as an opportunity.  A few weeks before I went to Spring Retreat, God sent a John the Baptist to prepare my heart for what would be a life-changing experience.  He gave me a community that would not reject me, no matter how hard I tried to push them away.  Then came the moment that would change my life: Spring Retreat.  God spoke to us through Anna and Julie.  We were all moved when we realized that God’s love was unconditional, already given to us before we were even created.  He showed that He would rather take us to our darkest fears in order for us to grow in faith.  It finally hit home when I was standing on a bluff overlooking the sea and just speaking to God.  I felt him telling me I was to be sent back home to not only grow in faith, but also for healing.  Healing that would touch the wounds that divide my family.  It has been almost a week now since Spring Retreat and I already can see God working in our family.  I recently had a talk with my Mom and wounds were soothed and scars were healed.  I am grateful to many people in IV who have changed my life, but I owe it all to the Lord who has changed me in ways I would never have imagine.”

*Name changed to maintain privacy 

Leave a Reply

